Who may service as a director?

There are very specific requirements that must be met in order to serve on the NFBWA’s board. To be eligible to be considered for service as a director, the candidate must:

  • Be at least 18 years old;
  • Be a resident of the NFBWA; and,
  • Have served as a director of one or more districts for a total of at least four years OR for the precinct that includes any part of the City of Fulshear, the individual may have served as the Mayor or a member of the City Council of Fulshear.

How are directors selected?

The governing bodies of the districts and municipalities within each of the seven precincts vote to appoint one director to represent them. The directors are appointed according to a procedure set forth in the legislation, with the number of votes of each district or municipality determined by the amount of water used within the precinct during the calendar year preceding the year in which the director is selected. The votes are counted, and the results are confirmed before May 15 of the “appointment” year.

The current board members are listed below

Asst. Secretary, Precinct 1

Mr. Fay served as a Municipal Utility District director for 14 years, and was the president of Fort Bend MUD #50. He has a B.B.A. in Accounting from the University of Houston, and a Juris Doctorate in Law from South Texas College of Law. Mr. Fay is a Certified Public Accountant and a member of the Texas Bar. He currently works at Shell Oil Company in Houston as Senior Tax Counsel.

Asst. Vice President, Precinct 2

A resident of the Fort Bend area for more than 21 years, Mr. Darden has nine years experience as a Municipal Utility District director, including five years as District president. He is well versed in MUD operations, as well as in civil law and civil procedures. Mr. Darden earned his B.B.A. at Pan American University. Since 1976, he has worked with Crawford & Company in property and casualty insurance adjusting.

Asst. Secretary, Precinct 3

Don Abrahamson, has spent 12 years as a Municipal Utility District director, before joining NFBWA in 2020. He is Project Manager with over 22 years’ experience developing/implementing Petrochemical, Gas, and Refining Project on budget, schedule, and safely. Mr. Abrahamson earned his Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering from Cleveland State University. He has been a resident of NFBWA for 19 years, is an active member in scouting teaching outdoor and life skills.

Secretary, Precinct 4

Ms. Gay has served as a Municipal Utility District director for five years before serving on the NFBWA board since 2005.  She is a licensed Professional Engineer in the state of Texas and has over 23 years of experience in civil engineering for land development projects.  Ms. Gay earned her B.S. in civil engineering from Texas A&M University and has been involved in the analysis, design and construction of water distribution, wastewater collection, drainage and paving facilities for projects located in Harris and Fort Bend Counties.  She currently works as a Senior Project Manager for LJA Engineering in Katy.

Vice President, Precinct 5

During almost 30 years of service as a Municipal Utility District president, Mr. Patton gained first-hand experience in cost-efficient operation strategies, which resulted in savings that allowed important community improvement projects to be constructed at no additional cost to District residents. Mr. Patton majored in Mechanical Engineering at Mississippi State University, holds a B.A. from Millsaps College, and earned an M.B.A. from the University of Houston. After a long career in the packaging industry, he is currently a Realtor© with RE/MAX Westside.

President, Precinct 6

Mr. Houghton has been a Fort Bend County resident and MUD Director for the last 18 years, and has been involved in the development of several large master planned communities in Fort Bend County. He has worked closely with numerous MUDS, LIDS, WCIDS, HOAS, and City and County departments to ensure high-quality, sustainable community developments. Mr. Houghton earned his B.A. from Lehigh University, and is currently employed as Vice President of Sales with General Growth Properties.

Asst. Secretary, Precinct 7

Dana Hollingsworth began a career in the water utility operations industry in 1999, following a 13-year banking career. She is currently the Assistant Vice-President of Business Relations for Municipal District Services and has been an MDS team member since 2008. Dana is a past City Council member of the City of Fulshear and former director of two Houston area MUDs. She is also a member of the AWBD Water Smart Committee and is a trained volunteer for the Fort Bend County Office of Emergency Management. Dana has a Bachelors Degree in Business Administration from Texas State University and resides within the NFBWA in the City of Fulshear, with her husband Adam.